#66 – Ono Yuuki

66_ono
Name: Ono Yuuki (小野 友樹)
DoB: 22 June 1984
Hometown: Shizuoka
Agency: Atomic Monkey

Next up in the guys’ Seiyuu no Wa series is Ono Yuuki. He’s someone who’s been around for quite some time – I distinctly remember him from silly things like Saint October, but it wasn’t around 2011-12 when he finally made a real breakthrough with roles in Kimi to Boku and Kuroko no Basket.

THIS IS JAPANESE LUNCH TIME RUSH!! 以上。

1. Please tell us why you became a seiyuu.
Because I admired Taniyama Kishow-san from watching the Kimi ga Nozomu Eien anime.

2. What was your debut anime role?
Alien B in Keroro Gunso. I took a credit card out from my body. Woosh.

3. Of all the shows you have acted in thus far, is there any character that has left a particularly strong impression?
A character named Kiryu Kyosuke from Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D’s. It was the first character I voiced that enabled me to display a variety of emotions.

4. Please tell us if any of the characters you are voicing now share any similarities to yourself.
A character named Kagami Taiga from Kuroko no Basket; he’s a glutton and though rather clumsy, always gives his best – those parts might be similar.

5. From all the shows you’ve been in, please tell us about any one scene that left a particularly strong impression.
From Kimi ni Todoke – there was a scene where my character swallows salmon right after gargling; they did actually record the sound of me gargling with water in my mouth.

6. Please tell us any horror stories or memorable tales from the recording studio.
This same gargling scene – it was supposed to go: gargle -> swallow -> immediately say my lines, but I had too much water in my mouth, swallowed too fast and ended up choking.

7. Are there any seiyuu you see as rivals or as someone to aim for?
A rival around my own age would be Kimura Ryohei-kun. We have a lot of opportunities to work together as well so when I see how sharp and convincing his acting is, I think to myself “I can’t lose to him!”.

8. If you weren’t a seiyuu, what do you think would you be doing now?
A teacher. I love teaching people and I’ve actually done home tutoring before.

9. What’s the hardest thing you’ve experienced as a seiyuu?
When I think about it now, I recall the days when I had to work 3 part-time jobs and take lessons all in the same day and yeah, those were really tough times. It’s strange how back then, it seemed like something that was completely normal and I never felt bitter about it.

10. On the flipside, what’s the happiest thing(s) that has happened to you as a seiyuu?
Every day is a happy day. I’m truly happy to be able to spend my days doing something I love.

11. Do you like singing? What has left the biggest impression when it comes to singing thus far?
Yes I do. I write my own songs as well. As for strong impressions, there’s this song called Hatsune Miku no Shoushitsu thas has long phrases that you have to sing without pausing to breathe..and there are talking (?) parts. It took me about a month of practice before I could sing it properly.

12. From all the radio shows you have hosted, were there any mails that left an impression on you?
It was a mail received for my radio show Team You Tak, where a listener informed us that there was an actual venue that had the same name as our show’s ending theme, and we later on held an event there.

*Team You Tak is his radio show with Eguchi Takuya. The song in question is FRIENDIER, and they held an event at Kawaguchi Friendier in November 2014.

13. Is there anything you take particular care about when you’re acting?
Voicing characters that are alive. I think “breathing life (into a character)” is such an apt phrase.

14. What kind of roles would you consider your specialty?
I have a feeling such a character may yet be hidden in roles I have yet to take on…

15. Tell us what goals and dreams you have as a seiyuu?
I hope to voice a character that anybody can recognize.

16. To the people who are aiming to become seiyuu, please give them a word of advice.
I think that in our daily lives lie many clues that can aid one’s acting ability. Therefore, let’s live life to the fullest! I am trying to do that as well.

17. Apart from the shows that you’ve been in, are there anime that you like to watch?
Kimi ga Nozomu Eien, which I mentioned earlier. It’s a work that depicts the pain and sadness of human conflicts very well and I often recommend it to friends.

18. In relation to the above, are there any types of roles you’d like to voice or perhaps, characters that you admire?
The hopeless hero Takayuki. Actually I did produce a script of it myself, got some friends over and acted out the role so I guess you could say I’ve already voiced him….

19. As a viewer, what kind of anime do you like?
I really got into Steins;Gate. I like stuff where you have to solve mysteries to arrive at the truth.

20. What kind of child were you?
Soccer was my first love. I survived my studies by sheer willpower.

21. Please tell us what TV programmes do you often watch?
I listened to radio more often than watching TV. Particularly Ijuin Hikaru’s radio show. I’d listen to it live but record the shows as well so I could listen to them every day.

22. Tell us what your favourite books are.
Mahoujin Guru Guru. It’s a masterpiece filled with fantasy and laughter.

23. Tell us what your favourite game is.
Mystery Dungeon: Shiren the Wanderer. Dungeons that change their layout every time you enter them, swords that become stronger. Ah….

24. Tell us what your favourite movies are.
Godzilla: Tokyo SOS. I cried during the scene where Mothra throws itself in the way to protect its child.

25. Tell us about your favourite music.
The Mahoujin Guru Guru anime theme songs – the OP Harete Hallelujah and the ED Wind Climbing~Kaze ni Asobarete~. Okui Aki’s singing voice can be fun and exciting but at times, can also be lonely and sad. I just recently re-read Guru Guru so that’s why I picked them. There’s plenty of music I like so maybe I can tell you about it another time!

26. Tell us what your motto is.
For man proposes, but God disposes”. The night before my high school entrance exams, I found a small piece of paper on my table with this phrase written on it by my father. I still keep it until today.

27. Tell us about any of your experiences with sports.
I played soccer from elementary to high school. When I was in junior high our team was strong enough to make it to national tournament level.

28. Tell us what songs you often sing when you go to the karaoke.
Uchuu Senkan Yamato, K by BUMP OF CHICKEN.

29. Tell us what your favourite foods are.
Tarts, chocolate, macarons, marshmallows, habutae mochi, yakiniku, shabu-shabu, sukiyaki, sushi…ah, this will never end.

30. Tell us what foods you hate.
Spicy foods and coriander.

31. Tell us about the stores you often go to.
I go to shabu-shabu restaurants and eat tons of vegetables. Warm, softened cabbage is the best.

32. Do you have any favourite snacks?
Tarts, chocolate, macarons, marshmallows, habutae mochi…hmm this feels like déjà vu.

33. Do you drink? If you do, what sort of drinks do you like?
I don’t drink at all. My whole family doesn’t believe in consumption of catabolic enzymes!

34. What did you do on your last day off?
I went to the gym, twice in a day. I’m trying to build some muscle!

35. If you had a whole week off, what would you do?
I’d go and watch each and every masterpiece from the past that I’ve not watched yet.

36. Are there any hobbies that you’ve been obsessed with recently?
Going to the gym. My body feels revived every time I go.

37. Tell us about any qualifications you have.
Kanji proficiency Level 2, English Proficiency Level Pre-2, Japan Soccer Association Certified Instructor Class D, Hyper Yoyo Professional License…hmm? That isn’t a qualification…!

38. What challenges would you like to take on within the next 10 years?
In my 20s, I was too focused on the things that were right in front of me so in my 30s, I’d like to take a step back and look at the big picture. I spend most of my free time shut in the house so I’d like to do things like going on short trips, taking in different sights.

39. What type of girl do you like?
A strange person who has common sense.

40. Which part(s) of a girl do you notice most?
Her chest. Haha. Lately, I’m getting a lot more mails from listeners telling me their bust size.

41. Tell us the most expensive thing you’ve bought recently.
A hybrid bike. Mamachari have been good enough for me up ‘til now, but I always wanted to buy a hybrid bike so I’m glad I did.

42. What is the one thing you most desire now?
I’m the type of person who’s more interested in ‘satisfying my appetite’ rather than ‘fulfilling greed’ so really, I’m more interested in discovering that something that could be the ‘one thing I most desire’.

43. If you could bring only one item to a deserted island, what would it be?
My glasses. ‘cos I wouldn’t be able to see anything otherwise.

44. If you had 1,000,000 yen that you could spend as you wish, how would you use it?
Buy different types of glasses.

45. Please tell us if there is anything that you do on a daily basis, habits etc.
Some stretching both in the morning and at night. I feel like my body and my head are working independently of each other.

46. Please leave a message for your fans.
I am hungry.

47. What’s your biggest memory of Okamoto Nobuhiko?
We went to eat steak for (his) birthday. The caviar cost 10,000 yen per 100g so we didn’t dare to order that….!

48. (A question from Okamoto Nobuhiko) I’d like to do a show together with you. If we were to do one, what should it be about?
A show where we’d eat sweets and play sports. Sweetsports!

49. Please tell us which seiyuu you get along well with.
There’d be no end to this so I’ll just mention those in my age group – Eguchi Takuya-kun, Ono Kensho-kun, Okamoto Nobuhiko-kun, Ohsaka Ryota-kun, Kimura Ryohei-kun, Toyonaga Toshiyuki-kun, Hosoya Yoshimasa-san.

50. Please leave a question for our next interviewee (Eguchi Takuya).
If we were to make something together, what would it be? Radio, video, a production – anything is OK!

The gap in between Seiyuu no Wa features is so ridiculous it takes me ages to notice when they do actually put things up :< Plus they tag things wrongly – this one was tagged with the Rookie series >__>

4 thoughts on “#66 – Ono Yuuki

    1. admin Post author

      pretty sure ‘weird’ is a default prerequisite for budding young seiyuu nowadays w

      Reply
  1. Patricia Selina

    Hello hello! Thanks for this TL – just wanted to interject that yes, he DOES refer to speaking parts in #11 – he recorded that song for a little-known franchise called Exit Tunes Presents ACTORS, which happens to be my main fandom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

