#54 – Aoki Ruriko

aoki
Name: Aoki Ruriko (青木 瑠璃子)
Nickname: Ruuri
DoB: 24 March 19xx
Hometown: Saitama
Agency: Atomic Monkey

The Ps know Ruuri best, so let Paranda tell you all about her.

This is a translation of #31 in the Seiyuu no Wa series.

1. Please tell us why you became a seiyuu.
While playing video games that didn’t feature voice acting, I would make up my own voices as I went along and that helped to extend my interest in the seiyuu profession.

2. What was your debut anime role?
A female student in Coicent.

3. Of all the shows you have acted in thus far, is there any character that has left a particularly strong impression?
Priscilla Twilight in Genei o Kakeru Taiyou. I’d never really had a chance to play an “older sister” type of character who at the same time, has a very frank personality, so I had a lot of fun voicing her.

4. Please tell us if any of the characters you are voicing now share any similarities to yourself.
I might be similar to Tada Riina from IDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls, in particular how she thinks that one should “Cherish the feelings of ‘Loving the things you Love!!’”. She has only survived ‘til now because of her love for entertainment….(lol)

5. From all the shows you’ve been in, please tell us about any scenes that have left a particularly strong impression.
The flashy scenes. Also, I do sometimes wonder to myself how certain characters would say casual, everyday words like “Yeah”. So I do find such scenes memorable too.

6. Please tell us any horror stories or memorable tales from the recording studio.
Because of my height I try not to wear shoes with heels or else I’ll be too tall to reach the mic! I try to avoid such disasters.

7. Are there any seiyuu you see as rivals or as someone to aim for?
There are too many, I wouldn’t know who to write!!

8. If you weren’t a seiyuu, what do you think you would be doing now?
I’d like to do something related to the creative (film/animation) industry, but hmm…I wonder what? (lol). Even if I was an office lady I don’t think my basic style would be any different from what I am now.

9. What’s the hardest thing you’ve experienced as a seiyuu?
A cold that wouldn’t have much of an effect on normal everyday life can become a hindrance to a seiyuu’s work as it affects the voice. Managing one’s physical condition is very important.

10. On the flipside, what’s the happiest thing(s) that has happened to you as a seiyuu?
There are many things, but I would say the feeling I get when I watch the finished versions of anime and games I have acted in. “How wonderful it feels to have helped create this work alongside so many other people”.

11. Do you like singing?
I like singing, but I get nervous singing live so I draw strength by reminding myself that “There are people here to cheer me on!”. I feel really happy during my songs at lives when I see that fans have come up with calls using their penlights.

12. From all the radio shows you have hosted, were there any mails that left an impression on you?
If the listeners’ pen-names are interesting then I’ll remember them easily (lol). Also, when I see letters that are concise and well-written I’ll think “This guy is a postcard artisan!! Amazing!!”.

13. Is there anything you take particular care about when you’re acting?
Basically, we act by reading text from the script but when it comes to unusual phrases I try as much as possible not to merely “read” the words.

14. What kind of roles would you consider your specialty?
It’s easy to voice characters that speak Japanese clearly.

15. Tell us what goals and dreams you have as a seiyuu?
I hope to still be a seiyuu 10 or 20 years down the line.

16. To the people who are aiming to become seiyuu, please give them a word of advice.
I’m not in a position where I’m qualified to offer advice but…(whispers) do your best.

17. Apart from the shows that you’ve been in, are there anime that you like to watch?
Fullmetal Alchemist. Also Shiawase-sou no Okojo-san.

18. In relation to the above, are there any types of roles you’d like to voice or perhaps, characters that you admire?
I was attracted to the energetic roles.

19. As a viewer, what kind of anime do you like?
I like anime that targets the male audience.

20. What kind of child were you?
I used to run around and play games at the park. I loved making my own secret bases out in the woods.

21. Please tell us what TV programmes do you often watch?
Sometimes I’ll watch documentaries or variety shows.

22. Tell us what your favourite books are.
Shimada Soji’s Mitarai Kiyoshi series. I’ll read any mystery stuff.

23. Tell us what your favourite game is.
The Legend of Zelda series.

24. Tell us what your favourite movies are.
I can’t choose…recently, I watched Big Hero 6.

25. Tell us about your favourite music.
I like music without vocals such as video game music etc.

26. Tell us what your motto is.
The chance of a lifetime.

*the phrase is 千載一遇 (senzai ichiguu)

27. Tell us about any of your experiences with sports.
I did actually take up swimming and kendo seriously. I wasn’t too good at ball games but I did like physical fitness tests!

28. Tell us what songs you often sing when you go to the karaoke.
Karaoke are places where you can talk with friends without worrying that you’re bothering others around you, so even if I do go I end up not singing (lol).

29. Tell us what your favourite foods are.
Tea, coffee, plain hot water, Italian food, high-calorie food.

30. Tell us what foods you hate.
Cucumbers, kiwis.

31. Tell us about the stores you often go to.
Electrical appliance and hardware stores are places that are filled with dreams to me. I also like window shopping for clothes.

32. Do you have any favourite snacks?
It’s!!! Chocolate!!!

33. Do you drink? If you do, what sort of drinks do you like?
Wine and cocktails that aren’t too sweet. Things like Salty Dogs and Gin Bucks.

34. What did you do on your last day off?
I brewed delicious coffee and played games while leaving the PC on.

35. If you had a whole week off, what would you do?
I’d just lock myself in at home. Or go somewhere far alone.

36. Are there any hobbies that you’ve been obsessed with recently?
Shine my shoes. My feet are large so it’s hard for me to find shoes but once I discovered international-sized leather shoes that are a good fit for me; I have been taking good care of them so that they will last for a long time. They aren’t even that nice a pair of shoes though (lol).

37. Tell us about any qualifications you have.
3-dan calligraphy, 2-dan kendo, ordinary driving license.

38. What challenges would you like to take on within the next 10 years?
Live well for 10 years.

39. What type of guy do you like?
I don’t like attaching labels to people in general and not just the opposite sex; it’s not possible for me to classify “types”.

40. Which part(s) of a guy do you notice most?
I don’t really take notice of such things…for a girl, her skin. Also eyelashes.

41. Tell us the most expensive thing you’ve bought recently.
I don’t really buy expensive things, but I do spend money on electronics!

42. What is the one thing you most desire now?
Money!!!!

43. If you could bring only one item to a deserted island, what would it be?
A mirror. Shine! Shine! I learned from a certain game that I can use it to put out rescue signals.

44. If you had 1,000,000 yen that you could spend as you wish, how would you use it?
I’d do nothing else but! Put it in the bank!

45. Please tell us if there is anything that you do on a daily basis, habits etc.
Write 4 lines in my diary. I do slack a bit here and there, but I’ve been doing it for over 10 years.

46. Please leave a message for your fans.
To those of you who send me letters and Twitter messages, thank you. It takes much effort to write plus it’s difficult to express yourself well, so it does make me very happy. They are a great encouragement to me.

47. Do you remember the first time you met Hara Sayuri?
I do remember. At the time, she was just hiding her true self. She was pure and cute back then…nowadays, she’s charming. But I feel hesitant to use the word ‘cute’ to describe her.
A Hara Sayuri who continues to evolve. It’s amazing.

48. (A question from Hara Sayuri) You’re always displaying your splendid literary talents. Please give me a few tips on how to write interesting content.
Hmmm I wonder… “splendid” eh….why does this sound like false flattery….Um. I think you might find the experience of browsing good ‘ol literature sites* useful. Or you might not.

*the word here is テキストサイト, which refers to websites where literature (novels, diaries, poetry) is the main content. You can find a list of some examples here.

49. Please tell us which seiyuu you get along well with.
I’m good friends with everyone from IDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls, or maybe I should call them my sisters-in-arms (lol). I am also good friends with Asai Ayaka from our time spent together in dubbing work.

50. Please leave a question for Matsuzaki Rei.
Rei-chama, you’re so good at nail art – where did you learn the tricks of the trade from? Do you do any other art-related things as well?

…I wonder what Ruuri’s shoe size is? Kpop fans send clothing, footwear and accessories to their idols all the time so maybe overseas seiyuu ota should start fundraising for that w

Leave a Reply

