#34 – Terui Haruka

34_terui_1
Name: Terui Haruka (照井 春佳)
Birthdate: 7 March 1987
Hometown: Iwate
Agency: Aoni Production

I uh…sort of got to know Parunyasu for not so savoury reasons – she’s a bit dim (claims to have never seen Mt.Fuji before despite having lived in Tokyo for 7 years), is a supposed G-cup (or H-cup depending on the maker). She’s also played the lead in two anime this year – Mikakunin de Shinkoukei’s Yonomori Kobeni and the titular character in Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de aru.

This is her Map of the Future, published prior to Yuyuyu.

Haruka’s PAST

10 years old – Learned about seiyuu
When I was in kindergarten I liked to pretend to be animals and characters, so I decided “I want to be a seiyuu!”

13 years old – Became a middle distance runner
I joined the athletics club and took part in middle distance running. My personal best performance was placing 2nd in the regional tournament…but I don’t think I’m actually that athletic (lol).

15 years old – Chose a high school with a drama club
To realize my dream of becoming a seiyuu, I chose to go to a high school that had a drama club. We really enjoyed writing our own scripts and putting on our own stage plays.

18 years old – Moved to Tokyo and entered voice training school
I wasn’t living alone – I actually moved in with my sister (in Tokyo), so I never truly felt the sadness of leaving home.

22 years old – Entered A&G Academy, First radio work
Tomokazu.Miki no Radio Big Bang was my first work as a seiyuu.

Note: This would be Seki Tomokazu and Nagasawa Miki’s radio show on Bunka Hoso that just ended its run in September 2014 after 15 years on air. Terui was one of the 11th generation assistants alongside Tanaka Yuka and the now-retired Hayashi Saori.

2014 – Voiced Yonomori Kobeni in Mikakunin de Shinkoukei
Everything was a new experience – my first regular anime role, my first time singing. When I found out I had won the role of Kobeni, I felt happiness from the bottom of my heart.

Haruka’s FUTURE

28 years old – Aim to expand the width of my roles by a 100 times!
One of the challenges I’ve set for myself is to expand the type of roles I play, starting obviously from kids all the way up to grannies. I hope I’ll be able to convey acting that is rich with emotion!

Early 30s – Voice a costumed cartoon or stuffed toy character
I’d like to provide voices for the sort of characters that appear in the educational programme Okaasan to Issho. I’d be happy if I could make even one child out there feel “I want to imitate this character!’, the same way I felt when I was young. I really want to do this!

Note: kigurumi and nuigurumi, respectively.

Late 30s – Take on the stage
I’ll have expanded my versatility by a 100 at this time, so I’d like to take on the challenge of acting as a mother, something I’d never done back in my drama club days (lol).

40 years old – Take a trip around the world
I’d especially love to visit Mont-Saint-Michel. Also, I’d love to see castles in Germany, and the Great Barrier Reef.

Past 50 years old – Be a seiyuu that continues to love their work
I hope to become a seiyuu who is like my seniors who I am indebted to – gentle, a mood maker in the studio, while never forgetting their love for their characters and their works

10 questions for Terui Haruka

Q1. What’s your favourite food?

A: Chocolate and ice-cream…and meat! Incidentally, to prevent my stomach from growling when I am working during afureko sessions, I always bring a packet of Weider in Jelly in my bag…ah, does that mean it’s my favourite food!?

Q2. What’s your hobby?

A: Karaoke! I always sing Junky’s Melancholic. I also love singing Ikimogokari’s, aiko’s and KOTOKO’s songs.

Q3. Any special skills?

A: I’m good at takeuma (stilts)! When I was in elementary school we had classes for that so I think I don’t think I’ll lose to anyone! I can even climb stairs and kick a ball on stilts,

Q4. Anything you’ve been addicted to recently?

A: An activity that combines the building up of physical strength and dieting – walking. Intentionally losing my way and then retracing my steps to find my way back – I enjoy that. Urban Tokyo is safe for walking as you’ll soon bump into a train station no matter where you go.

Q5. What are your charm points?

A: Maybe my long lower eyelashes? (lol). I don’t stand out much in any way, but my lower eyelashes, they’re long!

Q6. Is there anything you’ve been doing progressively over a period of time?

A: I’ve been writing a work diary for 3 years. Though lately, my challenge is that the challenges keep on piling up (lol). Also, I read the Tensei Jingo* every morning, then I continue through a series of exercises for vocalization and abdominal and spine muscle training.

*an op-ed column in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. Literal translation of the Latin phrase Vox Populi, Vox Dei (the voice of the people is the voice of the gods)

Q7. What are the differences between Tokyo and Iwate?

A: The trains arrive frequently! Also, I was surprised to see that the buildings here are vertically long. The buildings in Iwate are mostly horizontally long. Apart from that, the huge number of karaoke. It’s a lifesaver for me (lol).

Note: vertically long (縦長) – longer than it is wide, horizontally long (横長) – wider than it is long. see illustration.

Q8. What’s your favourite item?

A: An iPod that I received as a gift from my older sister. I only got it recently, but I’ve never owned this kind of fashionable item so it’s what I treasure most now. I use it to listen to music while I’m walking.

Q9. What’s your favourite quote?

A: Something a friend taught me – “Don’t be apprehensive, be positive!”. I got a little teary-eyed hearing that for the first time.

Note: the Japanese here is 向き不向きより前向き (muki fumuki yori maemuki). 向き不向きroughly means that a given person is cut out for certain things and not others, that they have their own strengths and weaknesses. In this case the phrase would kind of literally translate to “instead of worrying about or trying to find out whether or not you are suited to something, just be positive about it/go for it”.

Q10. What are your favourite books?

Jinsei wa Nyantoka suru! and Jinsei wa Wan Chance!. I read them when I’m feeling down or need a bit of cheering up.

Note: both are self-help books feauturing cats (nyan!) and dogs (wan!)

From Terui Haruka
34_terui
I’m Terui Haruka, pleased to meet you. Perhaps there are some amongst you readers who are hoping to become seiyuu. I too, wanted to become a seiyuu and spent many years studying acting with that goal in mind. From now on, I will give my absolute best so that I can be the hope of everyone who continues to work towards achieving their dreams.

I hope to repay the kindness of all the people who have supported me up until now by becoming a seiyuu who acts from the heart and continues to love her characters and series, so please do cheer me on.

3 thoughts on “#34 – Terui Haruka

Leave a Reply

