#32 – Hanae Natsuki

32_hanae
Name: Hanae Natsuki (花江 夏樹)
DoB: 26 June 1991
Hometown: Kanagawa
Agency: Across Entertainment
Representative roles: Maeda Atsuhiro/Wein in TARI TARI, Sakishima Hikari in Nagi no Asu kara, Kaizuka Inaho in Aldnoah Zero, Kaneki Ken in Tokyo Ghoul, Arima Kousei in Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

I only really got to know of Hanae-kun’s work for real this year through Tokyo Ghoul and Aldnoah Zero. I still don’t know much about him personally, but this set of 50 questions is hilarious – he must be an awesome guy to hang out with…online. Definitely gonna check him out more in the future!

Source of interview here.

1. Please tell us how you became a seiyuu.
Because I hated school lessons (the five core subjects*). When I was in high school I started to feel “I absolutely do not want to go to university”. Right around that time I was pretty obsessed with going to karaoke alone and that led to me vaguely thinking that I’d like to work at something that utilized my voice.

*5 core subjects would be Japanese, math, English, sciences, social studies.

2. What was your debut anime role?
That would be in the web anime Golden Kids. My appearance was as brief as the length of a single breath but I remember getting all panicky about it.

3. Of all the shows you have acted in thus far, is there any character that has left a particularly strong impression?
Nagi no Asu kara’s Sakishima Hikari. He is the pillar that supports my heart.

4. Please tell us if any of the characters you are voicing now share any similarities to yourself.
The unwholesome parts maybe.

5. From all the shows you’ve been in, please tell us about any one scene that left a particularly strong impression.
For TARI TARI I had some scenes that required me to speak in German, so they brought a German teacher into recordings. Apart from that, the scenes where we’d suddenly break out in song were memorable too.

6. Please tell us any horror stories or memorable tales from the recording studio.
There was a time in the studio, around the time when I had just made my début – I was trying to study the facial expressions, breathing technique and movements (stomach control etc) of one of the seiyuu seniors, so I was staring at him/her intently while sat on a chair near the mic when he/she said to me “Don’t look at me, it’s embarrassing. Sorry”. I felt like such a failure.

7. Are there any seiyuu you see as rivals or as someone to aim for?
The seiyuu I look up to is Yamadera Koichi-san. In the future, I’d like to be as loved as Namikawa Daisuke-san. I don’t really feel rivalry towards anyone. It’s more like I’m fighting myself.

8. If you weren’t a seiyuu, what do you think you would be doing now?
My family runs a home security business. If by some chance a miracle happened, I might be doing design-related jobs.

9. What’s the hardest thing you’ve experienced as a seiyuu?
When I moved to Tokyo I had to everything by myself, and also the times when I was suddenly called up for a job or to attend an audition when I had already scheduled my shift for my part-time job – that was pretty tough.

10. On the flipside, what’s the happiest thing(s) that has happened to you as a seiyuu?
I’m happy that I’m able to get proper work. Back when I was in school I’d never have imagined that I’d be where I am today.

11. Do you like singing? What has left the biggest impression when it comes to singing thus far?
One of the reasons I wanted to be a seiyuu was because I loved singing. Singing Kokoro no Senritsu and Netto Hero Ganbaranger for TARI TARI left big impressions on me.

12. From all the radio shows you have hosted, were there any mails that left an impression on you?
“Every time I hear Hanae-san’s voice I get all worked up!” (from a guy).

13. Is there anything you take particular care about when you’re acting?
It really depends on the anime and the character, but I try to sound as natural as possible.

14. What kind of roles would you consider your specialty?
Cocky middle-schoolers. My voice is more suited towards loser characters but I find it easier to voice cocky types.

15. Tell us what goals and dreams you have as a seiyuu?
I’d like to be successful enough so I can live out my older days at ease. I’d like to produce my own game as well, or at least I have delusions of doing so.

16. To the people who are aiming to become seiyuu, please give them a word of advice.
Remember and cherish the feelings you go through in your daily life and use them as a learning experience!

17. Apart from the shows that you’ve been in, are there anime that you like to watch?
Ouran High School Host Club, the Kaiji series, Planates.

18. In relation to the above, are there any types of roles you’d like to voice or perhaps, characters that you admire?
Tamaki Suou (Ouran), Tonegawa (Kaiji), Hachimaki (Planetes).

19. As a viewer, what kind of anime do you like?
Basically I like gag shows or anime that feature mind games. Also, I think shows that get you pumped up are great.

20. What kind of child were you?
A pretty annoying kid. I’d run around the whole day long, I think I couldn’t sit still at all.

21. Please tell us what TV programmes do you often watch?
London Hearts, Ame Talk!, Matsuko & Ariyoshi no Ikari Shinto, Downtown no Gaki no Tsukai ya Arahen de!!, Tunnels no Mina-san no Okage deshita, Shiru shiru Mishiru, Shabekuri 007.

*London Hearts is a prank show hosted by manzai duo London Boots, Ame Talk! is a comedy/talk show, Matsuko & Ariyoshi is a talk show hosted by Matsuko Deluxe & Ariyoshi Hiroiki. Tunnels no Mina-san no Okage deshita is a variety show where the infamous Brain Wall was developed, Shiru shiru Mishiru was a TV Asahi variety show, Shabekuri 007 is a talk show hosted by 3 manzai groups – Cream Stew, Neptune and Tutorial

22. Tell us what your favourite books are.
Calling You by Otsuichi. I read the novel when I was still in school, and when I was training to become a seiyuu I’d use the manga version as practice material.

23. Tell us what your favourite games are.
Magical Vacation (GBA RPG, 2001). I first bought the game when I was in elementary school but I loved it so much that I played it all over again when I was an adult. The world view and the characters were amazing and the battles were made to stir up men’s hearts. I myself bought 3 game cartridges so I could utilize the system*.

*the game had an ‘Amigo system’ that utilized interactions using the GBA’s multiplayer link in order to earn spells etc. See here.

24. Tell us what your favourite movies are.
The Shawshank Redemption. Clichéd choice, but it’s something that I wouldn’t mind watching over and over again.

25. Tell us about your favourite music.
BUMP OF CHICKEN. I like a lot of their older songs but of their more recent stuff, 66gosen is one of my favourites.

26. Tell us what your motto is.
Play video games for one hour each day!

27. Tell us about any of your experiences with sports.
When I was a child I did gymnastics and swimming, in elementary school tennis, and in junior high soft tennis.

28. Tell us what songs you often sing when you go to the karaoke.
Pierre and Catherine (by Blue Film, a Kuwahara Moichi electro project) Iyokan (Koyasu Takehito). I tend to sing “interesting” songs.

*Iyokan is a character song from Saber Marionette J to X composed by Okui Masami

29. Tell us what your favourite foods are.
These are seasonings rather than food, but olive oil and sesame oil. Adding either makes my food doubly delicious.

30. Tell us what foods you hate.
Mackerel. The one and only food that I cannot conquer in my lifetime…my body just refuses to accept it ;__;

31. Tell us about the stores you often go to.
A certain T-shirt store in Shinjuku. I buy most of my clothes online but I do go to the shops some times.

32. Do you have any favourite snacks?
Jagariko!

33. Do you drink? If you do, what sort of drinks do you like?
I like umeshu (plum wine) and sweet wines. I do drink quite a bit of beer. But I don’t drink at all at home.

34. What did you do on your last day off?
I played LOL (League of Legends) the whole day long. Also did a bit of cleaning.

35. If you had a whole week off, what would you do?
I’d be playing LOL the whole week long….

36. Are there any hobbies that you’ve been obsessed with recently?
The only hobby I have that resembles a hobby is playing games…so yeah, gaming (lol).

37. Tell us about any qualifications you have.
SEGA Word Processing Qualification Level 1. It’s more of a typing game so yeah, it’s not a proper qualification of any kind.

38. What challenges would you like to take on within the next 10 years?
I’d like to hold my own live concert!

39. What type of girl do you like?
Somebody who’s like Final Fantasy VII’s Yuffie Kisaragi. I’m not the type to keep changing his favourite character; I’m loyal to her and her alone so if she existed for real that would be ideal. Somewhere along the line though, I realize that I’ve become older than she is…

*note: Yuffie is 16 in FFVII

40. Which part(s) of a girl do you notice most?
Armpit.

41. Tell us the most expensive thing you’ve bought recently.
A PC for gaming. I’ve mostly been playing foreign-made games lately so I needed to get a new one since my old PC’s specs couldn’t handle the 3D graphics.

42. What is the one thing you most desire now?
Speaking ability… I’d like to be able to make more interesting comebacks (retorts, remarks). Also, the ability to communicate well!

43. If you could bring only one item to a deserted island, what would it be?
My PC…I’d be worried about my folders of treasure.

44. If you had 1,000,000 yen that you could spend as you wish, how would you use it?
I’ll just leave that up to my desires!

45. Please tell us if there is anything that you do on a daily basis, habits etc.
Talk to my electrical appliances. I spend the most time talking to my fridge.

46. Please leave a message for your fans.
In July, the TV anime Tokyo Ghoul and Aldnoah Zero will start! Please watch!

47. What’s your fondest memory of Sakurai Takahiro?
Playing the Love Jenga game during the Ace of Diamond Christmas Nico Nama show.

*Love Jenga is a special edition of the block game that has questions printed on each block.

48. Is there an episode that made you think to yourself ‘Ah, that’s embarrassing’.
At the convenience store the cashier said to me “there’s a button on the screen in front of you, please touch it” – I only heard the second half of the sentence and I absent-mindedly touched the cashier’s hands instead.

49. Please tell us which seiyuu you get along well with.
The people who I go out with are Ohsaka Ryota-san, Ishikawa Kaito-kun, Kawahara Yoshihisa-san. Mostly I socialize with my net game friends.

50. Please leave a question for our next interviewee (Ishikawa Kaito)
What in your opinion, is the most interesting phrase in the world?

Leave a Reply

